rounding up……

So I know some people might cringe when I say this….but I’ve been doing it since I was in college and it’s worked for me. If you’re the type of person who needs everything to equal out to the exact penny-then this will not be for you. Hell, you’d have to be the type of person who likes to keep track of their check book ….are you ready for this….by ACTUALLY writing down each purchase just like in the old’en days! haha!!

I round up! What do I mean? Well, yes I’m one of THOSE people who actually write down every purchase in the check book-it’s not a dying art, I tell ya! And when I do, I round up. For example, if I went to the grocery store and purchased an item for $3.99, I’ll write $5 in the check book. If I spend $40 in gas at the gas station, when I record it in my check book, I might write $42 instead. Why? Well, it’s my way of knowing that I always have extra in my account. It’s kind of like the modern day saving change in a jar and then at the end of the year, your astonished at how much you’ve collected in the jar. All of those pennies, nickel, dimes, quarters-or in my case dollars, add up.

I originally did this in college because I wanted to be sure I wouldn’t overdraft my account. After doing it once and having to fork out $30 plus dollars, I didn’t want it to happen again. So…I figured if I rounded everything up then the total I had in my check book after balancing it out would always be MORE than what I actually thought I had. We’ve been doing it ever since. 10 years later….we have a lot of spare change in our jar!!

 

Leave a Reply

